Dade-Trenton Optimist Club Honors Law Enforcement and Names Officer of the Year


The Dade-Trenton Optimist Club held the 18th Annual Law Enforcemen Appreciation Ceremony on Tuesday, May 2nd. This ceremony included the honoring of officers who had fallen in the line of duty and also selected the Officer of the Year from a list of several nominees.


  • Deputy Mathon Sledge (Dade County Sheriff’s Office)
  • Officer David Duvall (Trenton Police Department)
  • Special Agent Daniel Nicholson (Georgia Bureau of Investigation)
  • Corporal Stetson Stevens (DNR Law Enforcement Division)
  • MC03 William Cookson (Motor Carriers Compliance Division)
  • Trooper Ethan Sarrell (Georgia State Patrol)

Deputy Mathon Sledge was this year’s recipient of the Officer of the Year Award.

Congratulations to Deputy Sledge and all nominees! Thank you for your service to our State and Community.