Dade County Board of Education Receives State Award


The Dade County Board of Education has been honored with a state award.

Superintendent Dr. Jan Harris has announced that the Dade County Board of Education is the 2020 Governance Team of the Year for small schools. Harris shared a press release from the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) announcing the 2020 award winners.

The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Governance Team of the Year Award. This year GSBA is awarding this prestigious award to 3 Georgia public school district’s board of education and superintendent teams who have achieved all-around success in their district.  While a single governance team has won in the past, GSBA has created 3 categories: small, 1-3,000 students, medium, 3,001-10,000 students and large, 10,000+ students. This change creates a more equitable opportunity for all governance teams who qualify to win.
  • Small Category: 1-3,000 Students
               Dade County Governance Team
  • Medium Category: 3,001-10,000
               Oconee County Governance Team
  • Large Category: 10,001+
               Fayette County Governance Team

This prestigious award is presented annually to 3 Georgia public school districts’ board of education and superintendent teams who have achieved all-around success in their district.  This recognition is deeply rooted in the components of the Georgia Vision Project’s research-based recommendations for Georgia’s public schools.

These finalists were vetted through a stringent application process and a visit by an impartial review team to vet the information in the application.

“We are so pleased to honor these 2020 Governance Teams of the Year. They have exemplified, through work and service, what a high functioning board of education and superintendent look like,” said Pat Hugley-Green, GSBA President and Chair of the Muscogee County Board of Education.”

The winners were announced during a virtual ceremony on November 30, 2020 which honored the governance team finalists.

The winners were chosen by a panel of national experts who perform various leadership roles in the field of public education.

“The opportunity to spotlight good governance best practices is so vitally important. These governance teams set a high bar of achievement, and there is much we can learn from them. The Georgia School Boards Association always looks forward to annually highlighting quality governance for the benefit of all boards and superintendents around Georgia.” said Valarie Wilson, GSBA Executive Director.

Finalists for the award included for Small Districts – Bleckley County Schools, Dade County Schools.

For Medium Districts – Coffee County Schools, Dawson County Schools, Jefferson City Schools, Oconee County Schools.

For Large Districts – Columbia County Schools, Effingham County Schools, Fayette County Schools, Henry County Schools, Houston County Schools.

Pictured Above (Left to Right): Board Member Johnny Warren, Board Member Daniel Case, Board Chair Carolyn Bradford, Superintendent Dr. Jan Harris, Board Member Jennifer Hartline, and Board Member Bob Woods.