The Police Releasing Expanded ‘Every Breath You Take’ Record Store Day Single


The Police will take part in Record Store Day 2023 (April 22nd) with a special double-single release of 1983's "Every Breath You Take." The double-gatefold sleeve package includes the original UK single and a bonus disc featuring the extremely rare track — "Every Bomb You Make" — an exclusive version of the Police classic, with then-new lyrics, re-recorded specially at the time for the British comedy show, Spitting Image.

The set also includes the rare instrumental backing track for "Every Breath You Take," along with the gatefold featuring, "two color-printed inner bags featuring the original A&M label’s 'company' sleeve design." The new Record Store Day release is pressed on limited edition heavyweight red & yellow colored vinyl and was remastered and cut at Abbey Road Studios, London.

Sting revealed back in the day that the legendary hits off the Police's 1983 final album, Synchronicity, had a direct connection to the world of 007: ["I wrote 'Every Breath You Take," and 'King Of Pain,' and 'Wrapped Around Your Finger,' in a very short space of time in Jamaica. In a house that belonged to Ian Fleming, who's the man who wrote all the James Bond books. And I would sit at his desk every night and compose these songs — they came out very quickly. It's a very, um, magical kind of place in the north coast of Jamaica."] SOUNDCUE (:21 OC: . . . coast of Jamaica)

The 2023 Record Store Day release of "Every Breath You Take" consists of:

Disc One – original UK seven-inch single (red vinyl)
Side A – "Every Breath You Take"
Side B – "Murder By Numbers"

Disc Two – bonus disc (yellow vinyl)
Side A – "Every Bomb You Make"
Side B – "Every Breath You Take (Instrumental)"