The Doobie Brothers Return With First New Album In Seven Years


Out today (October 1st) is the Doobie Brothers' first new album in seven years, titled, Liberté. The album, which features Pat Simmons, Tom Johnston, and John McFee, was produced by John Shanks, best known for his work with Bon Jovi and Sheryl Crow.

We caught up with co-founder Tom Johnston, who explained the somewhat odd process the band took to record the new set: ["We didn't do any work during the actual pandemic until vaccinations were available. It had been started in '19. I had gone in and done two or three tracks and then I played them for Pat and he liked 'em. And he went in and did a couple of tracks and everything got shut down. So, we picked up where we left off in May. And what started off as a four-song project ended up being a 12-song project."] SOUNDCUE (:24 OC: . . . 12-song project)

The tracklisting to The Doobie Brothers' Liberté is:

"Oh Mexico"
"Better Days"
"Don’t Ya Mess With Me"
"Wherever We Go"
"The American Dream"
"We Are More Than Love"
"Just Can’t Do This Alone"
"Good Thang"
"Amen Old Friend"

The Doobies are currently on tour with Michael McDonald back in the fold and play tonight (October 1st) in Spokane, Washington at the Spokane Arena.

Tom Johnston On ‘Liberte’ Sessions :