The Allman Brothers Band Reissuing Classic 1970 ‘Atlanta Pop’ Performances


The Allman Brothers Band's legendary 1970 performances at the Atlanta International Pop Festival are set for digital re-release on Friday (October 23rd) and on CD in March 2021 from the Allman Brothers Band Recording Company. The audience-recorded collection, taped on July 3rd and 5th, 1970, features the original lineup of the band — Duane and Gregg Allman, Dickey Betts, Berry Oakley, Butch Trucks, and Jaimoe.

Portions of the Allmans' set in front of over 500,000 people were initially released by Columbia Records back in 1971, and also featured select cuts from Jimi Hendrix, Johnny Winter, Poco, Sly & The Family Stone, and others. The Allmans' Atlanta Pop entire set was issued in full by Sony Legacy back in 2003, and has been out of print since.

The tracklisting to The Allman Brothers Band: Live At The Atlanta International Pop Festival is: "Statesboro Blues," "Trouble No More," "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'," "Dreams," "Every Hungry Woman," "Hoochie Coochie Man," "In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed," "Whipping Post," "Mountain Jam Pt. I," "Mountain Jam Pt. II," "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'," "Statesboro Blues," "In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed," "Stormy Monday," "Whipping Post," and "Mountain Jam."

Shortly before his 2017 death, Gregg Allman explained to us that during the Allman Brothers Band's early days — there was nobody to touch them once they ignited on stage: ["Everybody was on the same wavelength, y'know? All the bio-rhythms were on, everybody was on the same page, everything's right in the pocket, everything was hittin' on all eight cylinders."] SOUNDCUE (:12 OC: . . . all eight cylinders)

Gregg Allman Says It’s Amazing When The Allman Brothers Band Locks In Together :