Ringo Starr Releases New EP Today


Out today, October 13th, is “Rewind Forward,” a new EP from Ringo Starr. It's the Beatles drummer's fourth EP since 2021 and features four new songs. Starr co-wrote the title track and first single, while former Beatles mate Paul McCartney contributed “Feeling the Sunlight.” Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench of Tom Petty's Heartbreakers penned “Miss Jean,” while Toto's Steve Lukather — a longtime member of Starr's All-Starr Band — and Joseph Williams collaborated on the opening track, “Shadows on the Wall.” The EP's release coincides with the last date of the latest All-Starr Band tour, in Thackerville, Okla. Starr tells us that he prefers making shorter EPs now than rather than full-length albums:

“I just felt EP, you could sort of look at it in a serious way and you can do it in a month. An album does take longer. So that's what I've been doing. The last 'EP3' was out, and I finished one just before I started rehearsing.” :21 OC: started rehearsing

Starr began his run of EPs with “Zoom In” during March of 2021, followed by “Change the World” the following September and “EP3” in September of 2022.

Starr says he has two more EPs coming, one recorded entirely with songwriter/producer Linda Perry (formerly of Four Non Blondes) and a country EP with Grammy Award winner T-Bone Burnett. No title or release date has been announced for either.

Starr also played on a new version of the Beatles' “Let It Be” for Dolly Parton's “Rockstar” album, which comes out November 17th. McCartney, Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood also play on the track.