New ‘Stranger Things’ Soundtrack Features Journey, The Cramps, The Beach Boys, & Talking Heads


Journey, the Beach Boys, Extreme, the Cramps, Kiss, Talking Heads and others are all featured on the just-issued Stranger Things: Soundtrack from the Netflix Series, Season 4. Coming on July 1st will be Season 4, Volume II, which features all of Volume I — plus additional music from the season's closing episodes.

The new compilation features the newly created buzzworthy Bryce Miller/Alloy Tracks Remix of Journey's 1983 classic, "Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)."

We recently caught up with keyboardist Jonathan Cain, and he walked us through how one of his and Steve Perry's greatest team-ups — the lead single and opening track to 1983's Frontiers album — "Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)" — came into being: ["We took Escape on the road and we knew we needed more teeth. We knew we needed something like 'Separate Ways,' y'know? Like, what would make our set undeniably great? And we tried to fill in what we were missing musically. I think we all sensed it. And I remember writing  'Separate Ways' with Steve (Perry) on the road. We wrote that in a hotel room — (bassist) Ross (Valory) was going through a divorce and boom — out comes 'Separate Ways,' and we're playin' it at the end of the Escape tour. Y'know, 'cause we needed it in the set. Now, we start fine tuning ourselves, y'know? And that's how in tune we were with our music. It was all of us, man."] SOUNDCUE (:36 OC: . . . of us man)

The tracklisting to Stranger Things: Soundtrack from the Netflix Series, Season 4 is:

"Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)" (Bryce Miller/Alloy Tracks Remix) – Journey
"California Dreamin'" – The Beach Boys
"Psycho Killer" – Talking Heads
"Running Up That Hill" – Kate Bush
"You Spin Me Round (Like A Record)" – Dead Or Alive
"Chica Mejicanita" – Mae Arnette
"Play With Me" – Extreme
"Detroit Rock City" – Kiss
"I Was A Teenage Werewolf" – The Cramps
"Pass The Dutchie" – Musical Youth
"Wipeout" – The Surfaris
"Object Of My Desire" – Starpoint
"Rock Me Amadeus (The Gold Mix)" – Falco
"Travelin' Man" – Ricky Nelson
"Tarzan Boy" – Baltimora
"Dream A Little Dream Of Me" – Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong

Jonathan Cain On Writing ‘Separate Ways’ :