Journey’s Steve Perry Announces First Christmas Album


Former-Journey frontman Steve Perry will release his first Christmas collection, titled, The Season, on November 5th. The album, co-produced by Perry and engineer Thom Flowers, features eight newly recorded holiday classics — including such jazz-based standards as "Winter Wonderland," "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas," and "Silver Bells."

Steve Perry spoke about the new album, explaining, "All the songs on this record were my favorites growing up. I used to hear them on the Philco radio that my grandmother always had on in the kitchen when she was cooking the most amazing holiday food, and because of that they hold a very emotional place in my heart. I wanted to make sure to record them all in a simple way that honors how I first heard and fell in love with them as a child."

Perry, who's renowned for possessing one of rock's greatest set off pipes went on to say, "One of the things I love most about those traditional recordings is they’re not coming at you like a rock song — they're just sitting there quietly and inviting you in. I’d never sung with that much simplicity before, and it was incredibly thrilling to bring that kind of expression to these songs."

The Season is Steve Perry's followup to his 2018 Top 10 comeback album, Traces. At the time, we asked Steve Perry if after a 24-year layoff, it seemed like he was coming back to an entire new world — or a return to home sweet home: ["I don't know if its coming back into anything familiar because it seems like everything's changed. I've changed, the world is different, the whole process is different — but somewhat the same, y'know, as far as trying to let people know that I have new music. But, it seems so different, y'know? It really does; we have an Internet now, we have downloading, we have streaming, we have not a lot of retail out there, and so now, more importantly that ever — and I feel personally good about this — it's more about the music now, because of the change of the world than ever before."] SOUNDCUE (:32 OC: . . . than ever before)

The tracklisting to Steve Perry's upcoming 'The Season' album is: 

"The Christmas Song"
"I’ll Be Home For Christmas"
"Auld Lang Syne"
"Winter Wonderland"
"What Are You Doing New Year's Eve" 
"Santa Claus Is Coming To Town" 
"Silver Bells" 
"Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas"

Steve Perry On Changes In The Music Business :