New Board of Commissioners Instead of Sole Commissioner for Walker County


Walker County’s first Board of Commissioners is in place after many years operating as a county with a Sole Commissioner.

Since 1940 Walker County has been a county run by a Sole Commissioner. County residents voted to change that form of operations to a Board of Commissioners and the first board has been elected and was sworn in this week. Their official start date is January 1, 2021.

The new Board of Commissioners has four Commissioners representing four districts and a Chairman for a five-man commission. Shannon Whitfield is Chairman, Robert Blakemore is District 1 Commissioner, Mark Askew is District 2 Commissioner, Brian Hart is District 3 Commissioner, and Robert Stultz is District 4 Commissioner.

A special called meeting, the first meeting for this board of commissioners, has been set January 4, 2021 at 6 pm. Included on the agenda for the meeting is selecting a Vice-Chair and setting a meeting schedule.

Video of the swearing in can be viewed below.